Documents Primary documents, including contractual texts and related memorandums, statements and other related documents. The Wassenaar Agreement now has 42 members: South Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Korea, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, United States of America, Finland, Greece, France, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, United Kingdom, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey. The last accession is that of India (December 2017). India is eager to emerge as an important member of various non-proliferation groups. India already has a “non-use” policy on nuclear weapons. This year could prove to be a turning point in his efforts to become a member of the NSG. The Wassenaar Agreement, which was officially established in July 1996, is a voluntary export control regime of which 42 members [1] exchange information on the transfer of conventional weapons and dual-use goods and technologies. Through these exchanges, Wassenaar intends to promote a “greater responsibility” of its members for weapons and dual-use products and to avoid “destabilizing accumulations”. Unlike its predecessor, the Cold War-era Coordinating Committee on Multilateral Export Controls (COCOM), created to limit exports to the former Soviet Union and the Eastern Bloc, Wassenaar is not addressing a region or group of states, but the “concerns” of members.

Wassenaar members also do not have a veto over exports proposed by other members, a power exercised by COCOM members. Although Wassenaar has overcome a large number of increasing pains, problems persist. One of the main difficulties of the agreement is that members remain divided on the scope of Wassenaar, first of all whether the agreement should become more than just an information-gathering and exchange body. As Wassenaar works by mutual agreement, only one country can block any proposal. In previous years, some members have consistently refused to participate fully in voluntary exchanges of information and communications on dual-use goods, despite improved participation. [2] In addition, there is no consensus among members on which countries are “concerning” or what constitutes “destabilizing” transmission. Another restrictive factor is that some major arms exporters such as Belarus, China and Israel are not members. The Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is the only one able to join India; Last year, China had practically walled India`s entry into the group with stones and stones.

China is not a member of the VA (or MTCR or Australia Group). And there is little doubt that China, had it been a member of one of these groups, would have impeded India`s accession. The Wassenaar Agreement calls on Member States to report twice a year on the transfer of arms and certain dual-use products for non-members of the Convention. The necessary data exchange will take place in April and October and will cover the previous six-month period (January – June or July – December). The refusal of any attempt to obtain the information indicated is also communicated within 60 days of the decision. The agreement defines the items to be reported in a list of ammunition and a two-stage list of sensitive dual-use goods and technologies.